Walk - 14.07 - 14.08

What

  • New art installations will link the Play Up and Play Down villages and the various event venues. Five artists/collectives are taking over the heart of the capital to highlight the identities of the neighbourhoods. Three 3D works on the ground and two above are installed. And since the centre’s alleyways contain countless treasures, this route will invite passers-by to look around them and (re)discover the many works already present in the streets, such as the frescoes of the Street Art or Comic Book Routes and permanent art installations.

When

  • 7/7, 24h/24h

Where

ARTISTIC INSTALLATIONS WALK

Place du Grand-Sablon

COMIC BOOK WALLS

Carrefour de l’Europe

Rue Notre-Dame de Grâces

STREET ART FRESCO’S

Boulevard de l'Impératrice x Rue du Cardinal Mercier

Rue de l’Ecuyer

Quai au Bois à Brûler

Rue du Chêne x Impasse du Val des Roses

Place d’Espagne

Rue Notre-Seigneur

PERMANENT ART INSTALLATIONS

Rue des Chartreux

Place de la Vieille Halle aux Blés

Place de la Chapelle

Rue des Minimes (rond-point)

Walk In the Streets – Carrefour de l’Europe

Title of the work: #BXL.
Artists: Caroline Derveaux & Amandine Lesay.

Created in 2021, Wall Street Colors is a collective of women street artists. Two of them join forces to customise a #BXL structure with spray paint for the occasion of IN THE STREETS.
Caroline Derveaux imagines a colourful and graphic universe for the letters BXL. In the centre, the Manneken-Pis, reimagined by Amandine Lesay, radiates the image of Brussels’ youth, with shades of an urban dancer.
Together they bring out the plural and dynamic energy of the city.
A graduate of Chelsea College of Arts & Design, Caroline Derveaux navigates between painting, scenography and art direction. After a master’s degree in engraving and painting at La Cambre, Amandine Lesay has had her work appear in the galleries and on the walls of Brussels.

Street Art Course – Rue de l’Ecuyer

Title of the work: Untitled.
Artist: Oli B.

Carte blanche from Oli B. From among the abundance of colours, one can make out the silhouette of a cat. Oli-B is a painter, illustrator and street artist from Brussels, Belgium. His work ranges across a huge array of media: acrylic, spray paint as well as digital or screen printing techniques on a wide variety of surfaces, including canvas, paper, wood, walls or even stickers. Oli-B’s flow operates on various fronts. Visually, it is fluidity that predominates, colours that are emphatic but balance each other; and a composition that binds everything together.

Walk In the Streets – Tour Noire

Title of the work: City Nest.
Artist: Gaspard Nibelle.

City Nest was born from the combination of a sculpture made by Pact Solutions and the colouring by Gaspard Nibelle. During their discussions on the project, they started from the artist’s love for birds (universally-beloved animals which mirror the lightness of summer) and mineral fibre, a medium often used by Pact Solutions.

Walk In the Streets – Rue des Pierres

Title of the work: Freedom starts with Happiness.
Artist: Benoit+Bo.
Credit: ©Benoit+Bo.

This work includes twelve artistic flags which express freedom through the expression of love and joy. During these troubled international times, they intend to show the strength of communities which recognise and communicate with each other using the international digital language of emojis.
The title of this installation comes from the song Jazz Soul by the group Stone Foundation “Freedom starts with Happiness.”

Walk In the Streets – Rue Haute

Title of the work: Stairsteps to stairways.
Artist: Ledia Kostandini.

“Stairsteps to stairways” is a project by the artist Ledia Kostandini which echoes traditional Flemish architecture, more specifically the staircase façades called “stepped gables.” These flexible pieces of architecture will build a colourful passage under the sky of rue Haute.
The artist uses eco-friendly materials and recycled fabrics in a hand-crafted sewing process. This artwork aims to delve into a deeper reflection which combines aesthetics, symbolism, history, and contemporaneity, and also highlights the cultural heritage.

Walk In the Streets – Place du Grand-Sablon

Title of the work: ARE YOU AWAKE.
Artist: Paula Raiglot.

Paula Raiglot’s “Raiglograms” series is a challenge to our human condition. It consists of a combination of telegram (a document intended to be transmitted) and the name of the artist.
Through short phrases, the artist desires to question the visitor on subjects which have meaning in their daily life and, more broadly, to our humanity.
The “Raiglograms” opens a gap for debate between audiences of different ages and cultures. They invite exchange, awareness and enthusiasm at our level.

Comic Book Route – Carrefour de l’Europe

Title of the work: Les Schtroumpfs (the Smurfs).
Artist: Urbana. Author of the comic: Peyo.

Urbana created a fresco on a 207m2 ceiling as part of the 60th anniversary of the Smurfs. It was inaugurated in June 2018 and is now part of the Brussels comic book trail. Have fun looking for all the Belgian and Brussels Smurf icons!

Comic Book Route – Rue de l’Etuve

Title of the work: Les Aventures de Tintin.
Artist: Art Mural. Author of the comic: Hergé.

A monumental fresco featuring Tintin, Snowy and Captain Haddock in The Calculus Affair, inaugurated in July 2005. © Hergé-Moulinsart 2022

Comic Book Route – Rue du Chêne

Title of the work: Olivier Rameau.
Artist: Art Mural. Author of the comic: Dany, Greg.

Flower power! Olivier Rameau holds out his hand to the sensual Colombe Tiredaile. In their utopian world, you pay not with money but with tears of joy, songs, laughter or a big kiss. Cartoonist Dany and writer Greg produced this poetic fantasy series in the crazy days of 1968.

Comic Book Route – Rue du Temple

Title of the work: Les aventures de Blake & Mortimer.
Artist: Atelier 30. Author of the comic: Edgar P. Jacobs.

This fresco in the heart of the Marolles, Edgar P. Jacobs’ neighbourhood, is both a tribute from the city of Brussels to this renowned Brussels author and a gift from Brussels on the occasion of the anniversary of Captain Francis Blake and Professor Philip Mortimer.

Comic Book Route – Rue Haute

Title of the work: Benoît Brisefer.
Artist: Urbana. Author of the comic: Peyo.

Benoît Brisefer is a little guy with a big heart and Herculean strength, which he loses as soon as he catches a cold. In this mural, he makes a gigantic leap to catch an escaping balloon. It is 9.5 m high and 1.7 m wide and was created by the artists of Urbana.

Comic Book Route – Rue Notre-Dame de Grâces

Title of the work: Spirou.
Artist: Urbana.

The Spirou mural fits in perfectly with the Marolles district, where second-hand dealers reign supreme. Without straying from his striking red bellboy uniform, Spirou is very much an adventurer. Always accompanied by his friend Fantasio and Spip, his pet squirrel, Spirou fights all sorts of villains around the world.

Street Art Course – Rue du Cardinal Mercier X Boulevard de l’Impératrice

Title of the work: Water doesn’t fall from the sky.
Artist: Freskolab.

This fresco, dominated by green and blue, is designed as a trompe-l’oeil recreating the architecture of Vivaqua’s head office to give the impression of a building lengthy in volume. The interactions between the characters are a fanciful and dynamic reflection of the close relationship we have with water. They also represent the essential role played by the Vivaqua company, who commissioned the fresco, and celebrate its past 130 years of making clean and healthy water accessible to everyone.
At the top of the fresco, spring water flows in the form of a waterfall, reminding us that for clean water, the guardian of life, we must take care of our soil and consume water responsibly.

Street Art Course – Quai au Bois à Brûler

Title of the work: Wink.
Artist: Ledia Kostandini.

Wink refers to the cooperation of the European Union with countries outside the Union, such as Albania.
Inspired by the paintings of Rene Magritte, the artist describes the work as follows: “The floating eyes in a cloudless sky are small Dadaist fragments of my city. They bring an optimistic message to the heart of Europe. The eyes blink and in this way they signal to the Brussels viewer their affection and solidarity. The blue sky refers to the color of the European flag. Can the eyes also become stars? The stars, of course, represent the different cultures, experiences and origins of Europe. The eyes, too, can eventually become stars.”

PAI – Mont des Arts (Rue du Musée)

Title of the work: The Whirling Ear.
Artist: Alexander Calder.

The Whirling Ear (Oreille Tourbillonnante) is a work by Alexander Calder (1898-1976), located at the Mont des Arts. It was created to be installed in front of the American pavilion at the 1958 World’s Fair, and was then gifted to Belgium by the USA.
The work consists of two hollow elements: a fixed steel base which houses the motorisation, and the mobile aluminium ear. These two elements are connected by a shaft consisting of a metal tube attached to the motor which ensures the rotation of the upper part. The entire work is painted black.

Street Art Course – Quai aux briques

Title of the work: Le chien (The dog).
Artist: Oakoak et Joachim.

Carte blanche created during Oakoak’s and Joachim’s visit to Brussels. The character of the dog is by Joachim and it refers to the name of the street in which the work is located: la rue du chien marin (sea dog road). The small pencils were created by OAKOAK and further embellish Joachim’s character.

Street Art Course – rue du Chêne X Impasse du Val des Roses

Title of the work: Manneken Peace.
Artist: HMI.

This 12-metre-high mural was created for the 30th anniversary of Belgian Hip Hop. The location of the work is not without significance – the former Maison du Folklore, a building steeped in history which, since 2017, has housed the wardrobe of the Manneken-pis. The mural shows us this Belgian icon dressed in his hip hop outfit. It is a tribute brimming with colours that represents the two branches of art that seem to garner little attention in our flat landscape: hip hop and street art.

Street Art Course – Place d’Espagne

Title of the work: Oie volante.
Artist: Oakoak.

Jean Sebastien Chenevat (alias OAK OAK) offers us frescoes with humorous tones to bring a smile to passers-by. His discreet (sometimes even hidden) works utilise the environment around them and fit perfectly into the urbanised setting of Brussels. Unlike his fellow artists, OAK OAK favours original spaces and integrates the form of the object into his work. His favourite playground is the “defects” of the city. He decorates cracks, gutters, public toilets and other objects of usually-overlooked urban furniture. His universe consists of elements of popular culture and geek references. His art is not just for fun: he uses it to expose the poetic qualities of the urban environment.

Street Art Course – Rue Haute X Rue des Chandeliers

Title of the work: Lotsjmaghrust.
Artist: Parole, Obêtre, Doctor H & Spencer

This work covers the side wall of the “Kombi”, a bar located at 60 rue Haute. The owner of this establishment called upon the PARCOURS to redecorate this side façade which originally housed a mural by the artist Obêtre. The proposed work represents falling objects strewn with slogans, some of which are typically Marollian, as the very title of the mural shows: “Lotsjmaghrust”, or “Leave me alone” in Marollian.

Street Art Course – rue Notre-Seigneur

Title of the work: Patientia.
Artist: Hell’O.

To mark the 450th anniversary of the death of the painter Pieter Bruegel. Inspiration: “Patientia” (engraving)
“Patientia by Bruegel is an allegory of patience (concretising abstract ideas), our intention was to work on a counter-allegory. To isolate elements of the original work that seemed interesting to us and translate them into simple, balanced and colourful geometric shapes.” Hell’O

PAI – Rue des Chartreux

Title of the work: Zinneke.
Artist: Tom Frantzen.

The word “Zinneke” refers to the “little Senne,” the name given to various diversions of the river dug over time to supply mills or prevent flooding.
Brussels tradition tells us that the inhabitants used dogs and cats to combat the invasion of rats, which were numerous in the districts crossed by the river. These animals were left to roam the streets freely. By analogy, the name of the river came to refer to the “mongrels” destined to spend their lives there.
More recently, the word “zinneke” has become the nickname for the people of Brussels, “mongrels” with cosmopolitan and multicultural origins.
“Zinneke” is of course also a reference to the famous Manneken-Pis in Brussels.

PAI – Pl. de la Vieille Halle aux Blés

Title of the work: Circular bench.
Artist: Lucile Soufflet. Work initiated by the Urban Art Committee.

The artist Lucile Soufflet designed a circular bench for the Place de la Vieille Halle aux Blés. This bench surrounds a tree planted specially for the occasion, and very quickly became a place of exchange and conviviality in the heart of the city. This work was installed during the redevelopment of the square as part of the “Chemins de la Ville” [Paths of the City], a walkway linking the upper and lower parts of the city.

PAI – Pl. de la Justice

Title of the work: Bleus sur jaune.
Artist: Daniel Buren. Work initiated by the Urban Art Committee.

Bleus sur jaune [Blues on yellow] is the name given by Daniel Buren to his work installed on the Courthouse in June 2009. As the use of the plural indicates, there are many shades of blue and a whole range of colours. Yellow is however the only colour which constitutes the mooring [marine vocabulary is highly appropriate here] of this permanent in situ work. With all sails billowing out, the work transforms the refreshing breeze which this square represents into a theme park for sensory stimulation. First we have the music of the clattering masts, reminiscent of marinas, and then comes the undulating, flowing movement of boat sails. The complementing light and shade extend the metal forest on the ground.

PAI – Place de la Chapelle

Title of the work: Pieter Brueghel.
Artist: Tom Frantzen.

This sculpture was designed to be placed among pedestrians in order to intrigue them and invite them to themselves enter into Bruegel’s painting. The painter is sitting behind his easel. There is only a frame with no canvas, so when you approach you can imagine that he is painting a self-portrait – or you!

PAI – Rue de l’épée

Title of the work: Arbre à Palabres.
Artist: Jozef Legrand.

Recyclart chose the artist Jozef Legrand to design and produce the Palaver tree. The work consists of several benches spiralling around a tree. Thanks to the natural slope of the terrain and the constant horizontal level of the upper part of the benches, the spiral offers different heights and various manners of use.

PAI – Rue du Miroir

Title of the work: In the Cloud.
Artist: Luk Van Soom.

The work is installed on the roof of the Espace Jacqmotte, the former coffee factory which has now been renovated. In the Cloud is a 7.5-metre-long aluminium artwork supported by three pairs of bronze legs, each 2.5 metres high.

PAI – Rue des minimes (Rond-point)

Title of the work: Oiseau (Bird).
Artist: Jean-Michel Folon.

This is a bronze sculpture by Jean-Michel Folon called “Oiseau.” The four-metre-high work adorns the Place du Grand Sablon, the artist’s childhood home.

inthestreets-logo

Walk - 14.07 - 14.08

Quoi

  • De nouvelles installations artistiques dessinent un parcours reliant les villages Play Up et Play Down et les divers endroits de l’événement. Cinq artistes/collectifs s’emparent du cœur de la capitale afin de mettre en valeur les identités des quartiers. Trois œuvres au sol en 3D et deux en hauteur sont installées. Et puisque les ruelles du centre recèlent de vrais trésors, cet itinéraire invite les passants à lever les yeux et à découvrir ou redécouvrir les nombreuses œuvres déjà présentes telles que les fresques des Parcours Street Art et BD ainsi que différentes installations artistiques permanentes…

Quand

  • 7/7, 24/24

Installations artistiques walk

Place du Grand-Sablon

Fresques BD

Carrefour de l’Europe

Rue Notre-Dame de Grâces

FRESQUES STREET ART

Boulevard de l'Impératrice x Rue du Cardinal Mercier

Rue de l’Ecuyer

Quai au Bois à Brûler

Rue du Chêne x Impasse du Val des Roses

Place d’Espagne

Rue Notre-Seigneur

INSTALLATIONS ARTISTIQUES PERMANENTES

Rue des Chartreux

Place de la Vieille Halle aux Blés

Place de la Chapelle

Rue des Minimes (rond-point)

Walk In the Streets – Carrefour de l’Europe

Titre de l’œuvre : #BXL.
Artistes : Caroline Derveaux & Amandine Lesay.

Créé en 2021, Wall Street Colors est un collectif de femmes street artists. À l’occasion de IN THE STREETS, deux d’entre elles s’associent pour une customisation à l’aérosol d’une structure #BXL.
Pour les lettres BXL, Caroline Derveaux imagine un univers coloré et graphique. Au centre, le Manneken-Pis revisité par Amandine Lesay, rayonne à l’image de la jeunesse Bruxelloise, avec des allures de danseur urbain.
Ensemble, elles font ressortir l’énergie de la ville : plurielle et dynamique.
Diplômée du Chelsea College of Arts & Design, Caroline Derveaux navigue entre peinture, scénographie et direction artistique. Amandine Lesay, après un master de gravure et peinture à la Cambre, fait figurer ses œuvres sur les murs des galeries et murs de Bruxelles.

Parcours Street Art – Rue de l’Ecuyer

Titre de l’œuvre : Untitled.
Artiste : Oli B.

Carte blanche à Oli B. Parmi le foisonnement de couleurs, l’on peut deviner la silhouette d’un chat. Oli-B est un peintre, illustrateur et artiste urbain originaire de Bruxelles (Belgique). Son travail s’étend sur un large éventail de supports : acrylique, peinture à la bombe et techniques numériques ou sérigraphie sur une grande variété de surfaces, dont la toile, le papier, le bois, les murs et même des autocollants. Oli-B opère sur différents fronts. Visuellement, c’est la fluidité qui prédomine, couleurs éclatantes qui s’équilibrent pour donner une composition qui lit le tout.

Walk In the Streets – Tour Noire

Titre de l’œuvre : City Nest.
Artiste : Gaspard Nibelle.

City Nest est né de la combinaison d’une sculpture réalisée par Pact Solutions et la mise en couleur par la peinture de Gaspard Nibelle. Lors de leurs échanges sur le projet, ils sont partis d’une part de l’amour de l’artiste pour les oiseaux (animaux aimés de tous qui correspondent bien à la légèreté de l’été) et par la fibre minérale d’autre part, support souvent utilisé par Pact Solutions.

Walk In the Streets – Rue des Pierres

Titre de l’œuvre : Freedom starts with Happiness.
Artiste : Benoit+Bo.
Crédit : ©Benoit+Bo.

Cette œuvre comprend douze drapeaux artistiques qui expriment la liberté à travers l’expression de l’amour et de la joie. Pendant cette période troublée au niveau international, ils entendent montrer la force des communautés qui se reconnaissent et communiquent entre elles en utilisant le langage international numérique : les emojis.
Le titre de cette installation vient du morceau Jazz Soul du groupe Stone Foundation « Freedom starts with Happiness ».

Walk In the Streets – Rue Haute

Titre de l’œuvre : Stairsteps to stairways (Des marches aux escaliers).
Artiste : Ledia Kostandini.

« Stairsteps to stairways » est un projet de l’artiste Ledia Kostandini qui fait écho à l’architecture traditionnelle flamande, plus précisément aux façades en escalier appelées « pignons en escalier ». Ces pièces d’architecture flexibles aménageront un passage coloré sous le ciel de la rue Haute.
L’artiste utilise des matériaux écologiques et des tissus recyclés dans le cadre d’un processus de couture artisanal. Cette œuvre d’art a pour but d’approfondir une réflexion qui combine l’esthétique, le symbolisme, l’histoire et la contemporanéité, et souligne également l’héritage culturel.

Walk In the Streets – Place du Grand-Sablon

Titre de l’œuvre : ARE YOU AWAKE.
Artiste : Paula Raiglot.

La série des « Raiglogram’s » de Paula Raiglot est une interpellation sur notre condition humaine. Mélange entre le télégramme -un écrit destiné à être transmis- et le nom de l’artiste.
Á travers de courtes locutions, l’artiste souhaite questionner le visiteur sur des sujets inhérents à leur quotidien et, plus largement, à notre humanité.
Les « Raiglogram’s » ouvrent une brèche pour provoquer le débat entre des publics d’âges et de cultures variés. Ils sollicitent l’échange, la prise de conscience et l’enthousiasme à notre échelle.

Parcours BD – Carrefour de l’Europe

Titre de l’œuvre : Les Schtroumpfs.
Artiste : Urbana. Auteur de la BD : Peyo.

Dans le cadre des 60 ans des Schtroumpfs, Urbana a réalisé une fresque, sur un plafond de 207m2. Celle-ci a été inaugurée en juin 2018 et fait désormais partie du parcours bande dessinée de la ville de Bruxelles. Amusez-vous à chercher toutes les icônes belges et bruxelloises schtroumpfées.

Parcours BD – Rue de l’Etuve

Titre de l’œuvre : Les aventures de tintin.
Artiste : Art Mural. Auteur de la BD : Hergé.

Fresque monumentale mettant en scène Tintin, Milou et le capitaine Haddock dans L’Affaire Tournesol, inaugurée en juillet 2005.
© Hergé-Moulinsart 2022

Parcours BD – Rue du Chêne

Titre de l’œuvre : Olivier Rameau.
Artiste : Art Mural. Auteur de la BD : Dany, Greg.

Flowerpower ! D’un air joyeux, Olivier Rameau tend la main à une apparition sensuelle : Colombe Tiredaile. Dans cet univers utopique, l’argent est inconnu, les paiements se font au moyen de larmes de joie, de chansons, de rires, voire de bisous. Le dessinateur Dany et le scénariste Greg imaginèrent cette série poético-onirique en la folle année 1968.

Parcours BD – Rue du Temple

Titre de l’œuvre : Les aventures de Blake & Mortimer.
Artiste : Atelier 30. Auteur de la BD : Edgar P. Jacobs.

Cette fresque replacée au cœur des Marolles, quartier d’Edgar P. Jacobs est à la fois un hommage de la ville de Bruxelles à cet auteur bruxellois de renom, mais aussi un cadeau de Bruxelles à l’occasion de l’anniversaire du Capitaine Francis Blake et du professeur Philip Mortimer.

Parcours BD – Rue Haute

Titre de l’œuvre : Benoît Brisefer.
Artiste : Urbana. Auteur de la BD : Peyo.

Benoît Brisefer est un petit bonhomme au grand cœur et à la force herculéenne, qu’il perd dès qu’il est enrhumé. Sur la fresque, il effectue un bond gigantesque pour rattraper un ballon qui s’envole. D’une hauteur de 9,5 m et d’une largeur de 1,7 m, elle fut réalisée par les artistes d’Urbana.

Parcours BD – Rue Notre-Dame de Grâces

Titre de l’œuvre : Spirou.

Artiste : Urbana.
La fresque Spirou s’intègre parfaitement dans le quartier des Marolles où les brocanteurs règnent en maitres. S’il a gardé de ses origines un superbe habit rouge de groom, Spirou est bien un aventurier. Toujours accompagné de son ami Fantasio et de Spip, son écureuil fétiche, Spirou combat des méchants de tout poil aux quatre coins de la planète.

Parcours Street Art – Rue du Cardinal Mercier X Boulevard de l’Impératrice

Titre de l’œuvre : L’eau ne tombe pas du ciel.
Artiste : Freskolab.

Cette fresque, dominée par les couleurs vertes et bleues, est pensée comme un trompe-l’œil, usant de l’architecture spécifique du siège social de Vivaqua pour représenter en volume un bâtiment tout en longueur. L’interaction entre les personnages donne à voir avec fantaisie et dynamisme l’étroite relation que nous avons avec l’eau. Elle rend compte du rôle essentiel de l’entreprise Vivaqua, commanditaire de la fresque, et vient célébrer ses 130 années écoulées à rendre l’eau accessible et saine pour tou.te.s.
Au sommet de la fresque jaillit l’eau de source sous la forme d’une cascade, nous rappelant que pour une eau propre, gardienne de la vie, nous devons prendre soin de nos sols et la consommer de manière responsable.

Parcours Street Art – Quai au Bois à Brûler

Titre de l’œuvre : Wink.
Artiste : Ledia Kostandini.

Wink fait référence à la coopération de l’Union européenne avec des pays extérieurs à l’Union, comme l’Albanie.
S’inspirant des peintures de René Magritte, l’artiste décrit l’oeuvre comme suit : « Les yeux flottants dans un ciel sans nuage sont de petits fragments dadaïstes de ma ville. Ils apportent un message optimiste au coeur de l’Europe. Les yeux clignotent et, de cette manière, ils signalent au spectateur bruxellois leur affection et leur solidarité. Le ciel bleu fait référence à la couleur du drapeau européen. Les yeux peuvent-ils aussi devenir des étoiles ? Les étoiles, bien sûr, représentent les différentes cultures, expériences et origines de l’Europe. Les yeux, eux aussi, peuvent éventuellement devenir des étoiles. »

IAP – Mont des Arts (Rue du Musée)

Titre de l’œuvre : L’Oreille Tourbillonnante.
Artiste : Alexander Calder.

L’Oreille Tourbillonnante, originalement appelée Whirling Ear, est une oeuvre d’Alexander Calder (1898-1976). Cette dernière est située au Mont des Arts. Elle fut créée pour être installée devant le pavillon américain de l’Exposition Universelle de 1958. Elle fut ensuite offerte par les USA à la Belgique.
L’œuvre se compose de deux éléments creux : une base fixe en acier qui abrite la motorisation, et l’oreille mobile en aluminium. Ces deux éléments sont reliés par un axe constitué d’un tube métallique fixé au moteur qui assure la rotation de la partie supérieure. L’ensemble est peint en noir.

Parcours Street Art – Quai aux briques

Titre de l’œuvre : Le chien.
Artiste : Oakoak et Joachim.

Carte blanche réalisée lors de la venue de Oakoak et Joachim à Bruxelles. Le personnage du chien est de Joachim et fait référence au nom de la rue dans laquelle se trouve l’œuvre : la rue du chien marin. Les petits crayons sont de OAKOAK et viennent agrémenter le personnage de Joachim.

Parcours Street Art – rue du Chêne X Impasse du Val des Roses

Titre de l’œuvre : Manneken Peace.
Artiste : HMI.

Cette fresque de 12 m de haut a été réalisée dans le cadre de l’anniversaire des 30 ans du Hip Hop Belge. L’emplacement de l’œuvre n’est pas anodin, il s’agit de l’ancienne Maison du Folklore, un bâtiment chargé d’histoire qui accueille depuis 2017 la garde-robe de Manneken-pis. La fresque nous montre cette icône belge vêtue de son costume « hip hop ». Un hommage haut en couleurs qui représente les deux branches artistiques, Hip Hop et Street art, souvent peu considérée dans notre plat pays.

Parcours Street Art – Place d’Espagne

Titre de l’œuvre : Oie volante.
Artiste : Oakoak.

Jean Sebastien Chenevat alias Oakoak nous offre des fresques aux tons humoristiques qui donnent le sourire aux passant qui les croisent. Discrètes, parfois dissimulées, ses œuvres tirent partis de l’environnement qui les entourent et s’insèrent parfaitement bien dans le cadre urbanisé de Bruxelles. Contrairement à ses congénères Oakoak privilégie les espaces originaux et intègre la forme de l’objet dans son œuvre. Son terrain de jeu préféré : les « défauts » dans la ville. Ainsi il décore fissures, caniveaux, toilettes publics et autres objets du mobilier urbain oubliés par leur banalité. Son univers se compose d’éléments de la culture populaire et de références « geek » . Plus qu’un simple détournement son art expose les qualités poétiques de l’environnement urbain.

Parcours Street Art – Rue Haute X Rue des Chandeliers

Titre de l’œuvre : Lotsjmaghrust.
Artiste : Parole, Obêtre, Doctor H & Spencer.

Cette œuvre couvre le mur latéral du «Kombi», un bar situé au numéro 60 de la rue Haute. Le propriétaire de cet établissement a fait appel au PARCOURS pour redécorer cette façade latérale qui accueillait initialement une œuvre de l’artiste Obêtre. L’œuvre proposée représente des objets en chute parsemés de slogans dont certains typiquement marolliens comme le montre le titre même de la fresque : «Lotsjmaghrust», soit «Fous-moi la paix» en marollien.

Parcours Street Art – rue Notre-Seigneur

Titre de l’œuvre : Patientia.
Artiste : Hell’O.

Dans le cadre du 450ème anniversaire de la mort du peintre Pieter Bruegel. Inspiration: « Patientia » (gravure). « Patientia de Bruegel est une allégorie de la patience (concrétiser des idées abstraites), notre intention était de travailler sur une contre allégorie. Isoler des éléments de l’œuvre originale qui nous semblaient intéressants et les traduire par des formes géométriques simples, équilibrées et très colorées. » Hell’O

IAP – Rue des Chartreux

Titre de l’œuvre : Zinneke.
Artiste : Tom Frantzen.

Le mot Zinneke désigne la « petite Senne », nom donné à différentes dérivations de la rivière creusées au cours du temps pour alimenter des moulins ou éviter les inondations.
La tradition bruxelloise raconte que pour combattre l’invasion de rats, nombreux dans les quartiers traversés par la rivière, les habitants utilisaient des chiens et des chats. Ces animaux laissés en liberté dans les rues. Par analogie, le nom de la rivière finit par désigner les chiens bâtards destinés à y finir leurs jours.
Plus récemment, le mot zinneke est devenu le surnom des Bruxellois, « bâtards » aux origines cosmopolites et multiculturelles.
Zinneke est bien entendu également un clin d’œil au célèbre Manneken-Pis bruxellois.

IAP – Pl. de la Vieille Halle aux Blés

Titre de l’œuvre : Banc circulaire.
Artiste : Lucile Soufflet. Œuvre à l’initiative du Comité d’art urbain.

L’artiste Lucile Soufflet a dessiné un banc circulaire pour la place de la Vieille Halle aux Blés. Ce banc, qui s’enroule autour d’un arbre planté à cette occasion, est devenu très rapidement un lieu d’échange et de convivialité au cœur de la ville. Cette œuvre a été implantée lors du réaménagement de la place dans le cadre des ‘Chemins de la Ville’, promenade qui relie le haut et le bas de la Ville.

IAP – Pl. de la Justice

Titre de l’œuvre : Bleus sur jaune.
Artiste : Daniel Buren. Œuvre à l’initiative du Comité d’art urbain.

Bleus sur jaune, c’est le nom qu’a donné Daniel Buren à son œuvre installée sur la place de la Justice en juin 2009. Des bleus, il y en a plusieurs comme l’indique l’emploi du pluriel, tout un camaïeu. Tandis que le jaune est l’unique couleur qui constitue l’amarrage, puisqu’il convient d’employer ici le vocabulaire marin, de ce travail in situ et permanent. Toutes voiles dehors, l’œuvre transforme cette place, un vrai courant d’air, en un parc à thème d’éveil sensoriel. D’abord il y a la musique des cliquetis des mâts qui rappelle celle des ports de plaisance, puis le mouvement ondulatoire et fluide des voiles de bateau. Sans compter l’ombre et la lumière qui dessinent au sol des prolongements à cette forêt de métal.

IAP – Place de la Chapelle

Titre de l’œuvre : Pieter Brueghel.
Artiste : Tom Frantzen.

La sculpture a été conçue pour être placée au milieu des piétons, afin de les intriguer et de les inviter à entrer en quelque sorte dans la toile de Bruegel. Le peintre est assis derrière son chevalet. Sur celui-ci ne repose pas de toile, mais un cadre, de sorte qu’en s’approchant on peut s’imaginer qu’il peint un autoportrait ou nous-même.

IAP – Rue de l’épée

Titre de l’œuvre : Arbre à Palabres.
Artiste : Jozef Legrand.

Recyclart a choisi l’artiste Jozef Legrand pour concevoir et réaliser l’arbre à palabres. L’œuvre se compose de plusieurs bancs qui s’enroulent en spirale autour d’un arbre. Par la pente naturelle du terrain et le niveau horizontal constant de la partie supérieure des bancs, la spirale offre différentes hauteurs et diverses possibilités d’utilisation.

IAP – Rue du Miroir

Titre de l’œuvre : In the Cloud.
Artiste : Luk Van Soom.

L’œuvre est installée sur le toit de l’espace Jacqmotte, l’ancienne usine de café aujourd’hui rénovée. In the Cloud est une œuvre d’art en aluminium de 7,5 mètres de long, supportée par trois paires de jambes en bronze de 2,5 mètres de haut chacune.

IAP – Rue des minimes (Rond-point)

Titre de l’œuvre : Oiseau.
Artiste : Jean-Michel Folon.

Sculpture en bronze réalisée par Jean-Michel Folon désignée sous le nom « Oiseau ». L’œuvre d’une hauteur de quatre mètres orne la place du Grand Sablon, lieu d’enfance de l’artiste.